Wednesday, November 19, 2014

Singapore Working Public Holiday Dates for the year 2015

The MOM (Ministry of Manpower), Singapore's Government agency in charge of managing employers and employment for Singaporeans, posts a handy list of public holidays for each year.

To help plan my holidays, at least, if I want to save some annual leave by planning it around public holidays, I like to make a list of the natural long weekends (e.g., if a public holiday falls on a Monday or a Friday). Since I have already made this list, I thought it would be nice to share it with you if you're interested and it helps with your holiday planning as well.

2015

  • Chinese New Year - Thu Feb 19 - Sun Feb 22  (4 days)
  • Good Friday  - Fri Apr 3 - Sun Apr 5 (3 days)
  • Labour Day - Fri May 1 - Sun May 3 (3 days)
  • Vesak Day - Sat May 30 - Mon June 1 (3 days)
  • Hari Raya - Fri Jul 17 - Sun Jul 19 (3 days)
  • National Day - Sat Aug 8 - Mon Aug 10 (3 days)*
  • Christmas Day - Fri 25 Dec - Sun 27 Dec (3 days)


*If you're traveling or simply away from a television, you can still enjoy the Singapore National Day parade online. I watched it on ChannelNewsAsia - www.channelnewsasia.com 



These are the official dates presented on the MOM website:

  • New Year’s Day, Jan 1, 2015, a Thursday; 
  • Chinese New Year, Feb 19 & 20, 2015, a Thursday and a Friday; 
  • Good Friday, Apr 3, 2015; 
  • Labour Day, May 1, 2015, a Friday; 
  • Vesak Day, June 1, 2015, a Monday; 
  • Hari Raya Puasa, Jul 17, 2015, a Friday; 
  • National Day, Aug 9, 2015, a Sunday; Because National Day falls on a Sunday, the Monday that follows will be a public holiday
  • Hari Raya Haji, Sept 24, 2015, a Thursday; 
  • Deepavali, Nov 10, 2015, a Tuesday; Christmas Day, Dec 25, 2015, a Friday.



If you're keen in understanding what each of the public holidays mean in Singapore, as there are Chinese, Indian and Malay holidays that Singapore celebrates, please see the National Library's online website. It's a great electronic encyclopedia on Singapore's history, culture, people and events. Very handy for newcomers to understand the icons, people and events that makes Singapore, Singapore.


Happy reading and travels!

Hello APEC Business Travel Card

What is the APEC Business Travel card? You may or may not have heard of the APEC Business Travel card  (ABTC). It's a business travel...